top of page

Berlinale Teddy Gala



The TEDDY AWARD is the most important queer film award in the world. It is a socially committed political award that praises films and individuals who communicate queer topics on a wider scale, thus contributing to greater tolerance, acceptance, solidarity and equality in society. The TEDDY AWARD has been awarded since 1987 as part of the Berlin International Film Festival. Films from all sections of the Berlin International Film Festival compete every year for the bronze-covered TEDDYs. The series of previous TEDDY AWARD winners ranges from international star directors such as Pedro Almodóvar, Gus Van Sant, Derek Jarman and Ulrike Ottinger to international screen stars such as Oscar-winning Tilda Swinton, Helmut Berger, Joe Dallesandro and John Hurt.


More than 2000 guests from the worlds of culture, art, business, politics and society are expected every year to attend the Award Ceremony. The TEDDY AWARD-Gala is a glamorous highlight in the cultural calendar of Berlin - not least because of the best and most exciting party of the Berlinale, which traditionally follows the award ceremony.

bottom of page